The three Rs – Replacement, Reduction and Refinement of animal experimentation

Animal experimentation should only be allowed if no alternative methods are available for answering scientific questions. The number of laboratory animals and the distress that they suffer must be kept to a minimum.

News

The 3R Research Foundation Switzerland is replaced by the 3Rs Competence Centre of swissuniversities.

Since it was founded in 1987, the 3R Research Foundation has financed research projects for alternatives to animal experiments and for the improvement and reduction of animal experiments. The abstracts of these research projects can be found here:

After 30 years, the 3R Research Foundation Switzerland is discontinuing its engagement for the 3Rs. It will be replaced by the 3Rs Competence Centre of swissuniversities. The commemorative publication for the closing event of the 3R Research Foundation on 22 January 2018 can be found here: 

(12.01.2018) 

In Switzerland, researchers are obliged to reduce the number of animals used in experiments to a minimum. According to the guiding principles of the 3Rs (Replacement, Reduction, Refinement), alternative methods must be found to replace animal experiments wherever possible. The absolutely necessary animal experiments have to be performed as gentle as possible (see Links: Russell and Burch, 1959, The Principles of Humane Experimental Technique).

Better animal welfare and humane animal experimentation with the 3Rs

In Switzerland, there is a need to establish a “3R culture” aimed at continuously and sustainably reducing the number of animal experiments and the suffering of the animals involved.

The 3R Research Foundation supports research projects exploring the 3Rs. The foundation is a cooperative institution of the Parliamentary Group for Animal Experimentation Issues, the Animalfree Research foundation and Interpharama. It has existed since 1987 and is supervised by the Federal Department of Home Affairs. The FSVO is represented on the foundation board.

The 3Rs are proving effective: Since the 80s, the number of laboratory animals used has decreased from 2 million to 600,000. However, complete replacement of animal experimentation remains difficult: Alternative methods must not only enhance animal welfare, but must also operate on a scientific level.

In 2015, the Federal Council approved a report on animal experimentation in Switzerland. The report demonstrates how the investigation of alternative methods can be promoted, how the number of animal experiments can be decreased and how the suffering of the animals involved can be reduced. To this end, the Federal Council is proposing several measures (see “More information”).

More information

Last modification 29.01.2018

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/tiere/tierversuche/3r-prinzip.html

3R – Replace, Reduce, Refine – Tierversuche ersetzen, reduzieren, verbessern

Tierversuche dürfen nur bewilligt werden, wenn keine alternativen Methoden vorhanden sind, mit denen eine Fragestellung beantwortet werden kann. Die Anzahl Versuchstiere und die Belastung der Tiere müssen auf ein Minimum beschränkt werden.

Aktuell 

Die Stiftung Forschung 3R wird vom 3R-Kompetenzzentrum der swissuniversities abgelöst.

Die Stiftung Forschung 3R hat seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 1987 Forschungsprojekte finanziert für den Ersatz von Tierversuchen sowie für die Verbesserung und die Reduktion von Tierversuchen. Die Abstracts dieser Forschungsprojekte finden Sie hier:

Die Stiftung Forschung 3R beendet ihren Einsatz für 3R nach 30 Jahren. Sie wird vom 3R-Kompetenzzentrum der swissuniversities abgelöst. Das Handout zum Abschiedsanlass für die Stiftung Forschung 3R vom 22. Januar 2018 finden Sie hier:

(12.01.2018) 

In der Schweiz sind Forschende verpflichtet, die Anzahl der Tiere für Tierversuche auf ein Minimum zu reduzieren. Gemäss den 3R-Prinzipien (replace, reduce, refine) müssen Alternativmethoden anstelle von Tierversuchen eingesetzt werden, wenn sie vorhanden sind. Die unbedingt nötigen Tierversuche sind so schonend wie möglich durchzuführen, siehe auch unter Links: The Principles of Humane Experimental Technique.

Besserer Tierschutz und schonende Tierversuche mit dem 3R-Prinzip

In der Schweiz soll eine 3R-Kultur etabliert werden, mit der die Anzahl Tierversuche kontinuierlich und nachhaltig reduziert und das Leiden der Tiere auf ein Minimum beschränkt wird.
Die Stiftung Forschung 3R unterstützt Forschungsprojekte zu den 3R-Prinzipien. Die Stiftung ist ein Gemeinschaftswerk der parlamentarischen Gruppe für Tierversuchsfragen, der Stiftung Animalfree Research und der Interpharma. Sie besteht seit 1987 und steht unter der Aufsicht des Eidgenössischen Departements des Innern. Das BLV ist im Stiftungsrat vertreten.
Die 3R-Prinzipien zeigen Wirkung: Seit den 80er Jahren ist die Zahl der Versuchstiere von 2 Millionen auf 600‘000 zurückgegangen. Schwierig bleibt jedoch der komplette Ersatz von Tierversuchen: Die Ersatzmethoden müssen nicht nur dem Tierwohl dienen, sondern auch wissenschaftlich funktionieren.

Der Bundesrat hat 2015 einen Bericht über Tierversuche in der Schweiz verabschiedet. Dieser zeigt auf, wie die Erforschung von Alternativmethoden gefördert, die Zahl der Tierversuche verringert und die Belastung der Tiere vermindert werden kann. Der Bundesrat schlägt hierzu mehrere Massnahmen vor: (siehe Weitere Informationen).

Weitere Informationen

Letzte Änderung 29.01.2018

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/de/home/tiere/tierversuche/3r-prinzip.html