Research project «Animal welfare also for farmed fish»

Fish farming in Switzerland has developed rapidly over the last years and will continue to grow in the future. However, there is a lack of scientifically validated methods available to fish farmers to assess the welfare of their fish in the installations.

In collaboration with the Zurich University of Applied Sciences (ZHAW) the FSVO is promoting the development of a model to systematically record and evaluate fish welfare in aquaculture installations. The objective is a software application (an “app”) that affords an individualised documentation to the fish farmers and makes available a standardised methodology for the research.

A model for the welfare of the fish

Based on international literature and practical experience with feeding installations, the following parameters have been developed to evaluate the welfare of the fish in 5 areas:

  • Water module: Quality of the water in the installation
  • Management module: Characteristics of the operation which directly or indirectly influence the welfare of the fish
  • Fish behavioural module: the general behaviour and dynamics of the group of fish
  • External fish module: External observations of the fish
  • Internal fish module: Examination of internal organs

Each module contains a number of parameters that by means of a mathematical model enable a module grade to be calculated. Some parameters are relevant only for certain aquaculture installations, and certain parameters are specific to particular species of fish. Consequently, the model is designed to be flexible enough to enable the modules to assess diverse installations and fish species.

egli-copyright
In Switzerland the perch is a popular edible fish, and local fishing falls far short of meeting the demand. This fish species is therefore found more and more in aquaculture installa-tions.


An app for fish farmers

A software application based on the model has been designed and will be further developed for use as an Android app and MS application. The app will be available by the end of 2020 in German, French and English, for use in recirculation and flow-through installations holding rainbow trout and pike perch. Perch will be integrated into the app by the beginning of 2021.

The ZHAW team

The project “Fish Welfare in Swiss Aquaculture” is headed by the research group leader Dr Dominik Refardt and doctoral student Linda Tschirren from the ZHAW and carried out in collaboration with representatives from across the aquaculture segment.

zuchtfisch-zhaw-copyright
The ZHAW research group for aquaculture systems carries out research and teaches in many areas of aquaculture with a focus on efficient and sustainable technologies as well as on aspects of the welfare and health of the fish.

Last modification 23.09.2020

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/tiere/forschungsprojekte-tiere/projekt-tierwohl-auch-fuer-zuchtfisch.html

Forschungsprojekt «Tierwohl auch für Zuchtfisch»

Die Schweizer Fischzucht entwickelte sich in den letzten Jahren rasant und wird zukünftig weiter wachsen. Den Fischwirten stehen jedoch kaum wissenschaftlich geprüfte Methoden zur Verfügung, um das Wohl ihrer Tiere in den Anlagen zu beurteilen.

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Zürcher Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften (ZHAW) fördert das BLV daher die Erarbeitung eines Modells, um das Fischwohl in Aquakulturanlagen systematisch zu erfassen und zu bewerten. Ziel ist eine App, die den Fischwirten eine individualisierte Dokumentation erlaubt und der Forschung eine standardisierte Methodik zur Verfügung stellt.

Ein Modell für das Wohl der Fische

Basierend auf internationaler Literatur und praktischer Erfahrung auf lokalen Mastanlagen wurden Parameter definiert, die das Fischwohl in 5 Bereichen bewerten:

  • Modul Wasser: Qualität des Anlagenwassers
  • Modul Management: Eigenschaften des Betriebs, die direkt oder indirekt das Wohlbefinden der Fische beeinflussen
  • Modul Fisch Verhalten: das allgemeine Verhalten und die Dynamik der Fischgruppe
  • Modul Fisch extern: Beobachtungen des Fisches von aussen
  • Modul Fisch intern: Untersuchung der inneren Organe

Jedes Modul beinhaltet mehrere Parameter, die mittels eines mathematischen Modells zu einer Modulnote verrechnet werden. Einige Parameter sind nur für bestimmte Aquakulturanlagen relevant und manche Parameterwerte sind spezifisch für bestimmte Fischarten. Deswegen wurde das Modell flexibel konzipiert, um eine Beurteilung der Module für diverse Anlagen und Fischarten zu ermöglichen.

egli-copyright
Der Egli ist in der Schweiz ein beliebter Speisefisch und der lokale Fischfang deckt die Nachfrage bei weitem nicht ab. Immer mehr wird diese Fischart daher in Aquakulturanlagen gehalten.


Eine App für die Fischwirte

Basierend auf dem Modell wurde eine Softwareapplikation entworfen, die nun für die Verwendung als Android-App und MS-Anwendung weiterentwickelt wird. Ende 2020 wird die App in Deutsch, Französisch und Englisch und für die Anwendung auf Kreislauf- und Durchflussanlagen mit Regenbogenforellen und Zandern zur Verfügung stehen. Anfang 2021 wird der Egli in die App integriert werden können.

Das Team der ZHAW

Seitens der ZHAW wird das Projekt «Fish Welfare in der Schweizer Aquakultur» von Forschungsgruppenleiter Dr. Dominik Refardt und der Doktorandin Linda Tschirren geleitet und in Zusammenarbeit mit Vertretern der gesamten Aquakulturbranche durchgeführt.

zuchtfisch-zhaw-copyright
Die Forschungsgruppe für Aquakultursysteme der ZHAW forscht und lehrt in vielen Bereichen der Aquakultur; effiziente und nachhaltige Technologien sowie das Wohl und die Gesundheit der Fische stehen im Fokus.

Letzte Änderung 23.09.2020

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/de/home/tiere/forschungsprojekte-tiere/projekt-tierwohl-auch-fuer-zuchtfisch.html