Aquaculture animals from the EU

Scope / conditions

The import provisions apply to animals from aquaculture such as live fish and aquatic crustaceans and molluscs (including bivalve molluscs). They also apply to animals that were originally free-living if they are destined for an aquaculture establishment.

Animals from aquaculture must comply with the provisions of Directive 2006/88/EC.

Health certificate / TRACES

Neither a health certificate nor a TRACES notification are required to import aquaculture animals that are kept exclusively for decorative purposes in aquaria or closed garden ponds.

For shipments intended for breeding and restocking supplies (including rearing and fattening) the veterinary officer in the country of origin must send an electronic TRACES notification as stipulated in Regulation EC 1251/2008 to the Cantonal Veterinary Office in the country of destination.

The cantonal authority must record the establishment of destination in Switzerland in the TRACES electronic system before the first import takes place.

To date there are no zones, bodies of water or establishments in Switzerland with a recognised infection status. The form "1251/08 – 1266/88 Intra Trade Notification" should be used in the system for the TRACES notification of shipments that do not require a health certificate under the terms of Directive 2006/88 or Regulation EC 1251/2008.

Additional conditions

An import licence is not required to import animals from aquaculture that are kept solely for decorative purposes in aquaria or closed garden ponds and which are not listed in Annex 3 of the Ordinance of 24 November 1993 on the Federal Act on Fish and Fisheries (FFO).

Exceptions from this ban are only granted for edible crustaceans of the genus Cherax and, under certain circumstances, for zoos or research establishments. They require a licence. Specific provisions therefore apply to the import of animals from aquaculture (see "More information").

Import permit according to species conservation law

Imports of fish and crayfish belonging to the species listed in Annex 3 of the Ordinance of 24 November 1993 on the Federal Act on Fish and Fisheries (FFO) are prohibited.

Under the terms of Article 6 of the Federal Act of 21 June 1991 on Fish and Fisheries, FFO, a fishery import licence is required to import live fish, fish eggs, fish semen and freshwater crustaceans(unless Article 8 FFO provides for exemption from the requirement for a licence), as they are considered to be non-domestic or non-native (see "Import applications").

This import permit is (among others) not required to import aquaculture animals to be kept exclusively for decorative purposes in aquaria or closed garden ponds.

Overarching protective measures

The protective measures in force on the day of import apply in all cases.

Inspection on entry into the country

Please note that it is not possible to import all categories of animals and goods into Switzerland at all border crossing points. The customs authorities have full autonomy in determining the responsibilities of each customs post.

The competent cantonal authorities check the prescribed health certificates or commercial documentation as part of their control activities.

Owner’s licence

A cantonal owner licence is required for all fish that can grow to over 1 metre in length in their natural environment. The owner must apply to the Cantonal Veterinary Office for this licence.

Miscellaneous

Certain animal species are additionally subject to species conservation regulations. Please check the conservation status in the CITES species list (see "Further information") and select the corresponding category using the detailed query option.

Last modification 03.10.2016

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/import-und-export/import/importe-aus-der-eu/lebende-tiere-aus-der-eu/tiere-aquakultur-eu.html

Tiere der Aquakultur aus der EU

Geltungsbereich/ Voraussetzungen

Die Einfuhrbedingungen gelten für Tiere der Aquakultur wie lebende Fische sowie aquatische Krebs- und Weichtiere (inkl. Muscheln). Sie gelten auch für ursprünglich frei lebende Tiere, wenn sie für einen Aquakulturbetrieb bestimmt sind.

Tiere der Aquakultur müssen den Bestimmungen der Richtlinie 2006/88/EG entsprechen.

Gesundheitsbescheinigung/ TRACES

Für Tiere der Aquakultur, die ausschliesslich in Aquarien oder geschlossenen Gartenteichengehalten gehalten werden, sind weder ein Gesundheitszeugnis noch eine TRACES-Meldung notwendig.

Bei Sendungen für die Zucht- und Wiederaufstockung (einschliesslich Aufzucht / Mast) muss der Amtstierarzt des Herkunftslandes eine elektronische TRACES-Meldung gemäss Verordnung EG 1251/2008 an den kantonalen Veterinärdienst des Bestimmungsortes absetzen.

Der Schweizer Bestimmungsbetrieb muss vor dem erstmaligen Import durch die kantonale Behörde im elektronischen System TRACES erfasst werden.

In der Schweiz gibt es bisher keine Zonen, Gewässer oder Betriebe mit anerkanntem Seuchenstatus. In Fällen, für welche die Richtlinie 2006/88, bzw. die Verordnung EG 1251/2008 eine TRACES-Meldung ohne Gesundheitsbescheinigung vorschreiben, ist im System das Formular "1251/08 – 1266/88 Intra Trade Notification" zu verwenden.

Zusätzliche Bedingungen

Die Einfuhr von Fischen und Süsswasserkrebsen, die im Anhang 3 der Verordnung zum Bundesgesetz über die Fischerei (VBGF) aufgeführt sind, ist grundsätzlich verboten. In Bezug auf die Süsswasserkrebse bezieht sich dieses Verbot nur auf die Panzerkrebse (Reptantia). Nicht betroffen von diesem Verbot sind Schwimmkrebse (Natantia), zu denen die Garnelen gehören.

Ausnahmen von diesem Verbot werden nur für Speisekrebse der Gattung Cherax und unter gewissen Umständen für Zoos oder Forschungsinstitute gewährt und sind bewilligungspflichtig. Es gelten daher spezifische Bedingungen zur Einfuhr von Tieren der Aquakultur (siehe „Weitere Infos“).

Artenschutzrechtliche Einfuhrbewilligung

Die Einfuhr von Fisch- und Süsswasserkrebsarten nach Anhang 3 der Verordnung vom 24. November 1993 zum Bundesgesetz über die Fischerei (VBGF) ist verboten.

Zur Einfuhr von lebenden Fischen, Fischeiern, Fischsamen sowie für Süsswasserkrebse braucht es gemäss Artikel 6 des Bundesgesetzes vom 21 Juni 1991 über die Fischerei BGF eine fischereirechtliche Einfuhrbewilligung (soweit Artikel 8 BGF keine Befreiung von der Bewilligungspflicht vorsieht), da sie als landes- oder standortfremd gelten (siehe „Einfuhrgesuche“).

Keine Einfuhrbewilligung ist u.a. dann erforderlich, wenn Tiere der Aquakultur ausschliesslich zu Zierzwecken in Aquarien oder geschlossenen Gartenteichen gehalten werden.

Übergeordnete Schutzmassnahmen

Es gelten immer die am Tag der Einfuhr aktuellen Schutzmassnahmen.

Kontrolle bei der Einfuhr

Beachten Sie, dass nicht alle Tier- und Warenkategorien über jeden beliebigen Grenzübergang in die Schweiz eingeführt werden können. Die Zollbehörden entscheiden allein über die Zuständigkeit der einzelnen Zollstellen.

Die zuständigen kantonalen Behörden überprüfen im Rahmen ihrer Kontrollaktivitäten die vorgeschriebenen Gesundheitsbescheinigungen oder Handelsdokumente.

Haltebewilligung

Eine kantonale Haltebewilligung ist für alle Fische nötig, die in natürlicher Umgebung länger als 1m werden können. Diese muss vom Halter beim kantonalen Veterinäramt beantragt werden.

Besonderes

Gewisse Tierarten unterstehen zusätzlich artenschutzrechtlichen Bedingungen. Bitte verifizieren Sie den Schutzstatus in der CITES-Artenliste (siehe „Weitere Infos“) und wählen Sie die entsprechende Kategorie über die detaillierte Abfrage.

Letzte Änderung 03.10.2016

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/de/home/import-und-export/import/importe-aus-der-eu/lebende-tiere-aus-der-eu/tiere-aquakultur-eu.html