Maintaining good hygiene to control multidrug-resistant bacteria in veterinary clinics

Bacteria can be transmitted between humans and animals, and some are resistant to antibiotics. What can veterinary clinics and practices do to minimise the transmission of multidrug-resistant bacteria? Researchers at the Vetsuisse Faculty set out to answer this question.

Logo Antibiotikaresistenz

A study funded by the FSVO found multidrug-resistant bacteria in dogs and cats, the animals’ owners, and the staff of veterinary clinics and practices. Multidrug-resistant bacteria are resistant to multiple antibiotics and are therefore more difficult to treat.

With the aim of minimising transmission of such bacteria, specific hygiene recommendations were drawn up for veterinary clinics and practices. The participants in this project were the Vetsuisse Faculties in Zurich and Bern, the Swiss Veterinary Society and the FSVO.

Kleintierklinik
Poor hygiene can allow multidrug-resistant bacteria to spread in veterinary clinics and practices (© Hannah & Sophie)

Importance of hygiene

Resistance to antibiotics is on the rise. Every use of antibiotics can encourage resistance, so it is important to use antibiotics as sparingly as possible.

This calls for effective measures to prevent diseases and minimise their transmission. Hygiene plays a crucial role here: good hygiene can prevent infections and is important in both human and veterinary medicine.

Research into the transmission of bacteria

To maintain effective hygiene, we need to know where bacteria occur and how we can combat their transmission. Just like at home, it is important to maintain good hand hygiene in veterinary clinics and practices.

Transmission of bacteria between pets and humans is rare, but it does occur. There has been little research into the prevalence of resistant bacteria in pets in Switzerland. To investigate this, samples were taken in veterinary clinics and practices and subjected to tests. The researchers found multidrug-resistant bacteria in both the samples from clinic staff and those from animals and their owners. Some of these bacteria were closely related, which is why transmission was assumed. Transmission can occur directly between animals and humans or indirectly, via the environment.

Measures to combat the spread of bacteria

Based on the results of the research project into the spread and transmission of multidrug-resistant bacteria, a comprehensive hygiene manual (available in German or French) was produced for small animal practices and clinics. The manual contains specific recommendations to minimise the spread of bacteria. These include good personal hygiene, proper cleaning and disinfection of premises and equipment, and optimal surgical management (see “More information” > “Details”).

A future research project will look at whether and how the recommendations are implemented in practice. For example, digital learning and self-evaluation tools could be developed and minimum statutory requirements put in place at a later stage.

More information

Last modification 14.05.2021

Top of page

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/das-blv/forschung/forschungsbericht-2017-2020/forschung-hygiene-in-kliniken-und-praxen.html

Mit guter Hygiene gegen multiresistente Keime in Tierkliniken und Tierarztpraxen

Bakterien können zwischen Mensch und Tier übertragen werden. Das gilt auch für solche, die gegen Antibiotika resistent sind. Was können Tierkliniken und Tierarztpraxen unternehmen, um die Übertragung von multiresistenten Keimen zu minimieren? Forschende der Vetsuisse-Fakultät sind dieser Frage nachgegangen.

Logo Antibiotikaresistenz

In einer vom BLV finanzierten Studie wurden bei Hunden und Katzen, deren Besitzern und beim Klinik- und Praxispersonal multiresistente Keime gefunden. Diese sind gegenüber mehreren Antibiotika resistent und können deshalb weniger gut behandelt werden.

Mit dem Ziel, die Übertragung dieser Keime zu minimieren, wurden konkrete Hygieneempfehlungen für Tierkliniken und Tierarztpraxen erarbeitet. Daran beteiligt waren die Vetsuisse-Fakultät Zürich und Bern, die Gesellschaft Schweizer Tierärztinnen und Tierärzte sowie das BLV.

 

kleintierklinik
Bei mangelnder Hygiene können sich multiresistente Bakterien auch in Tierkliniken und Tierarztpraxen verbreiten (© Hannah & Sophie)

Hygiene ist wichtig

Die Resistenzen gegen Antibiotika nehmen zu. Jeder Einsatz von Antibiotika kann Resistenzen begünstigen. Deshalb ist es wichtig, dass Antibiotika möglichst zurückhaltend eingesetzt werden.

Voraussetzung dafür sind wirkungsvolle Massnahmen, die Krankheiten vorbeugen und deren Übertragungen minimieren. Hygiene spielt dabei eine wichtige Rolle: Eine gute Hygiene kann Infektionen verhindern. Sie ist sowohl in der Human- wie auch in der Tiermedizin wichtig.

Forschung zur Übertragung von Keimen

Für eine wirkungsvolle Hygiene muss man wissen, wo Keime überhaupt vorkommen und wie man deren Übertragung entgegenwirken kann. Wie zu Hause ist es auch in Tierkliniken und Tierarztpraxen wichtig, dass eine gute Handhygiene eingehalten wird.

Dass Keime zwischen Haustieren und Menschen übertragen werden, ist selten, kommt aber vor. Wie häufig resistente Keime bei Haustieren in der Schweiz vorkommen, ist bisher wenig erforscht. Um dies zu klären, wurden in Tierkliniken und Tierarztpraxen Proben entnommen und untersucht. Sowohl in den Proben von Klinikpersonal wie auch in denen von Tieren und ihren Besitzern fanden die Forschenden multiresistente Keime. Es handelte sich teils um eng verwandte Keime, weshalb man annimmt, dass sie übertragen wurden. Die Übertragung kann direkt zwischen Tier und Mensch oder indirekt über die Umgebung stattfinden.

Massnahmen gegen die Verbreitung von Keimen

Aufgrund der Ergebnisse aus dem Forschungsprojekt zur Verbreitung und Übertragung von multiresistenten Bakterien wurde ein umfassendes Hygienehandbuch für Kleintierpraxen und -kliniken erarbeitet. Es enthält konkrete Empfehlungen, um die Verbreitung von Keimen zu minimieren. Dazu gehören zum Beispiel gute Personalhygiene, korrekte Reinigung und Desinfektion von Räumen und Geräten oder optimales Management von Operationen (siehe «Weitere Informationen» > «Im Detail»).

In einem künftigen Forschungsprojekt soll untersucht werden, ob und wie die Empfehlungen in der Praxis umgesetzt werden. So können später beispielsweise digitale Lern- und Selbstevaluationswerkzeuge entwickelt und gesetzliche Mindestvorgaben geschaffen werden.

Weitere Informationen

Letzte Änderung 14.06.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/de/home/das-blv/forschung/forschungsbericht-2017-2020/forschung-hygiene-in-kliniken-und-praxen.html