Findings on a Coronavirus in pigs help us to understand the SARS-Coronavirus-2

A research programme supported by the FSVO on preventative measures against outbreaks of coronaviruses in the veterinary field delivered significant findings on viruses that jump from animals to humans. Thanks to these findings the emerging zoonotic viruses, such as SARS-Coronavirus-2, can be better investigated.

Coronaviren

Coronaviruses are known as important pathogens in the veterinary field. They can infect mammals and birds. A number of coronaviruses are triggers of critical diseases in livestock and pets.

 

Volker Thiel, researcher at the Institute of Virology and Immunology (IVI) and professor at the University of Bern has been carrying out research into coronaviruses in the veterinary field for several years. In the interview he explains

  • which animals can contract the SARS-coronavirus-2 and fall ill with COVID,
  • which findings help to protect livestock and pets against coronaviruses,
  • and which animals can transmit the virus to humans.

The family of coronaviruses also includes the porcine epizootic diarrhoea virus (PEDV). It is responsible for serious outbreaks of disease in China since 2010 and in USA since 2013.

The FSVO and the Coronaviruses

In a project supported by the FSVO from August 2015 to July 2018, preventative measures were drawn up for the case in which a highly virulent PEDV strain were introduced into Europe and thus into Switzerland.

The project involved the production of a “molecular clone” of the PEDV strain. Thanks to this clone the PEDV genome can be modified such that it no longer triggers disease and can be tested as a possible vaccine. Based on these findings a similar strategy can be applied to SARS-Cov-2.

Coronavirus expertise at the Institute of Virology and Immunology (IVI)

As the news of a new SARS-Coronavirus spread round the world in January 2020 the IVI, part of FSVO, was well prepared. The IVI, in its research on the fundamental mechanisms of the replication of coronaviruses in animals and humans, had carried out work on coronaviruses for a number of years.

The research always focussed on the question of how the findings can be utilised to prevent the replication and spreading of coronaviruses, and how coronaviruses could be specifically weakened and converted into a vaccine.

Also, in the case of SARS-CoV-2, this involves forming a “molecular clone”. The scientists in IVI succeeded in record time, as soon as February 2020, to generate such a clone (Publication in the journal Nature, 4. May 2020).

Volker Thiel explains in the interview

  • the role of his research when COVID-19 appeared in China at the end of 2019, and how he and his team of researchers have collaborated nationally and internationally with other experts,
  • to what extent the findings from his research on the PED virus benefit the fight against SARS-COV-2,
  • and which role is played by the molecular clones of the PED-strain in the development of vaccines intended to be inoculated in the fight against COVID-19.

Harmless Coronaviruses as possible vaccines

As a result of this success, the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNF) instigated a research project for the development of weakened SARS-CoV-2 variants that could be suitable live vaccines. Besides the IVI, two additional research groups from Bern and Geneva, as well as two research groups from Berlin and Rheims, were involved in this project.

The PEDV project is entering the second phase. In collaboration with an industrial partner the intention is to produce and test a PEDV vaccine. In addition, work has begun on the development of a live vaccine for Covid-19. The molecular SARS-CoV-2 clone has been made available to many research laboratories throughout the world. These laboratories are pursuing similar strategies for the production of live vaccines or use the clone to identify antiviral agents for treating COVID-19.

In the interview Volker Thiel explains the difference between the live vaccines intended to be developed, based on the findings of his research, and the vaccines that are currently inoculated in the fight against Covid 19.

More informations

In detail

FSVO Research Project:
"Establishing preparedness for PEDV outbreaks" (1.15.05)

Last modification 08.06.2021

Top of page

In Focus

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/en/home/das-blv/forschung/forschungsbericht-2017-2020/erkenntnisse-coronavirus-schwein-sars.html

Erkenntnisse über ein Coronavirus im Schwein helfen das SARS-Coronavirus-2 zu verstehen

Ein vom BLV unterstütztes Forschungsprojekt zu vorsorgenden Massnahmen gegen Ausbrüche von Coronaviren im Veterinärbereich lieferte wichtige Erkenntnisse über Viren, die vom Tier auf den Menschen überspringen. Dank diesen Erkenntnissen können neuauftretende zoonotische Viren, wie das SARS-Coronavirus-2, besser untersucht werden.

Coronaviren

Coronaviren sind als wichtige Krankheitserreger im Veterinärbereich bekannt. Sie können Säugetiere und Vögel infizieren. Eine Reihe von Coronaviren sind Auslöser von schwerwiegenden Krankheiten bei Nutztieren und Heimtieren.

Volker Thiel, Forscher am Institut für Virologie und Immunologie IVI und Professor an der Universität Bern, forscht seit mehreren Jahren zu Coronaviren im Veterinärbereich. Im Interview erklärt er

  • welche Tiere sich mit dem SARS-Coronavirus-2 infizieren und an COVID erkranken können,
  • welche Erkenntnisse helfen, Nutz- und Heimtiere gegen Coronaviren zu schützen
  • und welche Tiere das Virus auf den Menschen übertragen können.

Zur Familie der Coronaviren gehört auch das Porzine Epizootische Diarrhoe-Virus (PEDV). Es ist seit 2010 in China und seit 2013 in den USA für schwere Krankheitsausbrüche verantwortlich.

Das BLV und die Coronaviren

In einem vom BLV unterstützten Projekt erarbeiteten Forschende des IVI von Augst 2015 bis Juli 2018 vorsorgende Massnahmen für den Fall, dass ein hochvirulenter PEDV-Stamm nach Europa und damit auch in die Schweiz eingeschleppt würde.

Im Rahmen des Projekts wurde ein sogenannter „molekularer Klon“ des PEDV-Stammes erzeugt. Dank diesem kann das PEDV-Genom so verändert werden, dass es keine Krankheit mehr auslöst und als möglicher Impfstoff getestet werden kann. Eine ähnliche Strategie kann aufgrund dieser Erkenntnisse auf das SARS-CoV-2 angewendet werden.

Coronavirus-Expertise am Institut für Virologie und Immunologie (IVI)

Als im Januar 2020 die Nachricht von einem neuen SARS-Coronavirus um die Welt ging, war man an dem zum BLV gehörenden IVI gut vorbereitet. Um grundlegende Mechanismen über die Vermehrung von Coronaviren in Tieren und Menschen zu erforschen, wurden dort seit einigen Jahren Arbeiten an Coronaviren durchgeführt.

Im Fokus dieser Arbeiten waren stets die Fragen, wie man die Erkenntnisse nutzen kann, um die Vermehrung und Ausbreitung von Coronaviren zu verhindern, und wie man Coronaviren gezielt abschwächen und zu einem Impfstoff umbauen kann.

Auch beim SARS-CoV-2 geht es darum, einen «molekularen Klon» zu bilden. Den Wissenschaftlern am IVI ist es bereits im Februar 2020 in Rekordzeit gelungen, einen solchen zu erzeugen (Publikation im Wissenschaftsmagazin nature, 4. Mai 2020).

Im Interview erklärt Volker Thiel

  • die Rolle seiner Forschung, als COVID-19 Ende 2019 in China auftrat, und wie er und sein Forscherteam mit anderen Experten national und international zusammengearbeitet haben,
  • inwiefern die Erkenntnisse aus seiner Forschung zum PED-Virus dem Kampf gegen SARS-CoV-2 nützen
  • und welche Rolle die molekularen Klone des PEDV-Stammes für die Entwicklung der Impfstoffe, die im Kampf gegen COVID-19 verimpft werden sollen, spielen.

Ungefährliche Coronaviren als mögliche Impfstoffe

Aufgrund dieses Erfolgs ermöglicht der Schweizerische Nationalfond (SNF) ein Forschungsprojekt für die Entwicklung von abgeschwächten SARS-CoV-2-Varianten, die sich als Lebendimpfstoff eignen könnten. An diesem Projekt sind neben dem IVI zwei weitere Forschungsgruppen aus Bern und Genf sowie zwei Forschungsgruppen aus Berlin und Riems beteiligt.

Das PEDV-Projekt geht in die zweite Phase. In Zusammenarbeit mit einem Industriepartner soll ein PEDV-Impfstoff hergestellt und getestet werden. Zudem haben die Arbeiten an der Entwicklung eines Lebendimpfstoffes für COVID-19 begonnen. Der molekulare SARS-CoV-2-Klon wurde vielen Forschungslaboratorien in aller Welt zur Verfügung gestellt. Diese verfolgen ähnliche Strategien zur Herstellung von Lebendimpfstoffen oder verwenden den Klon, um antivirale Mittel zur Behandlung von COVID-19 zu identifizieren.

Im Interview erklärt Volker Thiel den Unterschied zwischen den Lebendimpfstoffen, die aufgrund von Erkenntnissen aus seiner Forschungstätigkeit entwickelt werden sollen, und den Impfstoffen, die aktuell im Kampf gegen COVID-19 verimpft werden.

Weitere Informationen

Im Detail

BLV-Forschungsprojekt:
«Etablierung von vorsorgenden Massnahmen für PEDV Ausbrüche (1.15.05

Letzte Änderung 11.06.2021

Zum Seitenanfang

Im Fokus

https://www.blv.admin.ch/content/blv/de/home/das-blv/forschung/forschungsbericht-2017-2020/erkenntnisse-coronavirus-schwein-sars.html