Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office FSVO

This version is for browsers with a low level of support for CSS, and is des

Home Language Selection



Home Content Area

Home Navigator

End Navigator



Research

As part of cooperation with the Vetsuisse Faculty of the University of Bern, the IVI is responsible for teaching and research in the areas of virology and immunology. These departments are run by university professors Volker Thiel (Virology) and Artur Summerfield (Immunology).
The research activities comprise both fundamental and applied research and provide an important base for the control of animal diseases and zoonoses and the continuing education of veterinarians and biologists. The research activities of the different IVI departments are closely linked to those of the Vetsuisse Faculty and other relevant European research institutions.

IVI research in the field of virology and immunology is financed to a large extent by third-party funding, especially the European Union Framework Programmes, the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF), the Swiss Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office (FSVO) and the 3R Research Foundation. A number of projects with industry also contribute to this funding.

Fundamental research in immunology and virology

The main area of research in immunology and virology is virus-host interactions. The focus here is on interactions with the immune system, in the case of both congenital and acquired immunity. A key area is the pig and ruminant immune system, with a particular focus on dendritic cells, macrophages and the interferon system. This fundamental research is used directly in the development of new vaccines and in explaining the pathogenesis of viral infections.

Understanding viral disease through application of modern molecular and immunological methods

One focus of research is on the interaction between selected viruses and the host, especially the host's immune system. Conducted in close cooperation between the Virology and Immunology Departments, this research serves to improve our understanding of viral diseases. These efforts help to support fundamental research and modern disease control by increasing our knowledge of how viruses function and of the host's defence mechanisms. This is also an essential basis for the development of alternative methods to replace animal experimentation. The current areas of research are in the field of classical disease pathogens as well as pathogens with zoonotic potential, such as pestiviruses (classical swine fever and bovine viral diarrhoea), influenza viruses, coronaviruses, PRRSV, small ruminant lentiviruses and agents of the Japanese encephalitis virus serocomplex.

Translating molecular and immunological knowledge to innovative vaccine development

Various IVI research projects, based in both the Virology and the Immunology Department, are working on new vaccines for influenza, PRRSV, PEDV, foot and mouth disease, bluetongue, African horse sickness and other viral infections. We are researching and developing new vaccine platforms based on viral vectors, recombinant live attenuated vaccines, synthetic nanoparticles and more effective immunostimulants. Such research efforts enable us to develop efficient disease control and prevention. Moreover, they provide a basis for new vaccine development and improved control strategies which also have potential for application in the field of human medicine.


To leave a message for specialist staff: info@ivi.admin.ch

End Content Area

Full-text search

 


Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office FSVO
info@blv.admin.ch | Legal framework | Web Analytics
http://www.blv.admin.ch/ivi/01751/index.html?lang=en

Volltextsuche

 

Beginn Inhaltsbereich

Beginn Navigator

Ende Navigator



Forschung

Im Rahmen einer Kooperation mit der Vetsuisse Fakultät der Universität Bern, ist das IVI für Lehre und Forschung auf den Gebieten Virologie und Immunologie verantwortlich. Die Universitätsprofessoren Volker Thiel (Virologie) und Artur Summerfield (Immunologie) leiten diese Abteilungen.
Die Forschungsaktivitäten beinhalten Grundlagenforschung sowie angewandte Forschung und sind eine wichtige Grundlage für die Bekämpfung von Tierseuchen und Zoonosen, die Aus- und Weiterbildung von Tierärzten/Tierärztinnen und Biologen/Biologinnen. Die Forschungsaktivitäten der verschiedenen Abteilungen des IVI’s sind eng vernetzt mit denen der Vetsuisse Fakultät und anderen relevanten europäischen Forschungsinstitutionen.

Die Forschung des IVI auf dem Gebiet der Virologie und Immunologie werden zu einem wesentlichen Teil aus Drittmitteln finanziert - insbesondere durch die Förderprogramme der Europäischen Union, dem Schweizerischen Nationalfonds zur Förderung der wissenschaftlichen Forschung (SNF), dem Bundesamt für Lebensmittelsicherheit und Veterinärwesen (BLV) und der Stiftung Forschung 3R. Weitere Forschungsmittel akquiriert das IVI im Rahmen von Projekten mit industriellen Partnern.

 Grundlagenforschung in Immunologie und Virologie

Der Schwerpunkt in Immunologie und Virologie sind Wechselwirkungen von Viren mit ihren Wirten. Im Focus stehen vor allem Wechselwirkungen mit dem Immunsystem, sowohl im Rahmen von angeborener als auch erworbener Immunität. Ein Schwerpunkt ist das Immunsystem des Schweines und der Wiederkäuer mit einem besonderen Fokus auf dendritische Zellen, Makrophagen und das Interferonsystem. Diese Grundlagen werden direkt angewandt um neue Impfstoffe zu entwickeln und um die Pathogenese von Virusinfektionen aufzuklären.

 Mit molekularvirologischen und immunologischen Methoden Viruskrankheiten verstehen

Ein Schwerpunkt der Forschung liegt auf der Interaktion von ausgewählten Viren mit dem Wirt, insbesondere dessen Immunsystem. Dies wird in enger Kooperation zwischen der Abteilung Virologie und Immunologie durchgeführt und dient dem besseren Verständnis von Viruskrankheiten. Damit unterstützen wir die Grundlagenforschung und eine moderne Tierseuchenbekämpfung, da wir das Wissen über die Wirkungsweise von Viren und der Abwehrmechanismen des Wirts erhöhen. Dies ist auch eine essenzielle Grundlage für die Entwicklung von alternativen Methoden als Ersatz von Tierversuchen. Die momentan bearbeiteten Schwerpunkte sind im Bereich von klassischen Tierseuchenerregern sowie Erregern mit zoonotischem Potential, wie zum Beispiel Pestiviren (klassische Schweinepest und Bovine Virus Diarrhö), Influenzaviren, Coronaviren, PRRSV, Lentiviren der kleinen Wiederkäuer, sowie Erreger des Japanische Encephalitis Virus Serokomplexes.

 Mit molekularvirologischen und immunologischen Methoden innovative Impfstoffe entwickeln

Verschiedene Forschungsprojekte am IVI, die sowohl in der Abteilung Virologie als auch Immunologie angesiedelt sind, arbeiten an neuartigen Impfstoffen gegen Influenza, PRRSV, PEDV, Maul- und Klauenseuche, Blauzungenkrankheit, Afrikanische Pferdepest und anderen Virusinfektionen. Wir erforschen und entwickeln neuartige Impfstoffplattformen, die auf viralen Vektoren, rekombinanten attenuierten Lebendimpfstoffen, synthetischen Nanopartikel sowie optimierten Immunstimulanzien basieren. Solche Forschungsanstrengungen münden in der Entwicklung effizienter Seuchenbekämpfung und Prävention. Sie stellen zudem eine Grundlage von neuartigen Impfstoffen und verbesserten Impfstrategien dar, welche auch in der Humanmedizin Anwendung finden können.


Fachkontakt: info@ivi.admin.ch

Ende Inhaltsbereich



http://www.blv.admin.ch/ivi/01751/index.html?lang=de